State Records Commission

Members      Meeting information


Ala. State Records Commission





Creation and Authority
The State Records Commission was created and authorized by state law in 1955. See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 41-13-21; Section 41-13-25.


The State Records Commission consists of nine members, six of them are ex officio and the other three are appointed. The ex officio members are the:


The appointed members :

  • One member from the University of Alabama (designated by the head of the Dept. of History)

  • One member from Auburn University (designated by the head of the Dept. of History)
  • One member from one of Alabama's Historically Black Colleges and Universities (appointed by the Governor)



The State Records Commission is charged with the following responsibilities:


State and local officials -- for records management assistance call (334) 242-4452 or email us at records@archives.state.al.us.


For genealogical or historical research

Updated: April 11, 2017