Alabama Academy of Honor logo


Montgomery, AL – The Alabama Academy of Honor is inviting nominations for its Class of 2011. “We welcome nominations for this great honor,” said Dr. Catherine J. Randall, the Academy’s chairman. Randall noted that membership in the Academy is limited to 100, excluding governors, who are automatically members. Current members will elect new members to be inducted at a ceremony at the State Capitol in October. Recent inductees have included Henry (Hank) Aaron, Harper Lee, Charles McCrary, and Dr. Condoleezza Rice.

The State Legislature created the Alabama Academy of Honor on October 29, 1965, to bestow honor and recognition upon living Alabamians for their outstanding accomplishments and service. Persons elected to membership are distinguished citizens of Alabama whose accomplishments and service have greatly benefited or reflected great credit on the State.

The Academy is accepting nominations from the public until April 15, 2011. The nomination form and instructions are available at, or upon request by writing or calling the Academy’s administrative offices:

Alabama Academy of Honor
c/o Department of Archives & History
Box300100 Montgomery, AL 36130-0100
Telephone: 334-242-4441

Instructions for using online nomination form:

You must have Adobe Reader, a free utility available for download at, to open and print the PDF version of the nomination form. After you have Adobe Reader installed, click on one of the links below to choose the form that you wish to use. Version A is an Acrobat form that can be completed on your computer and then printed out for submission. Version B is formatted to be printed first and then completed by hand.

Nomination Form Version A (for completing on your computer and then printing)

Nomination Form Version B (for printing first and then completing by hand)

Return to Academy of Honor Home Page
Return to Famous Alabamians
Return to Alabama History Online
Return to ADAH Home Page
Updated: January 20, 2011